Resurrection

resurrection

Let me tell you my four simple tips on how not to write a blog.

  • Start out with great expectations and an enthusiastic first blog which is met with lots of comments and a number of folks signing up to receive blog posts.
  • Wait three months to post again.
  • Write another post three months later.
  • Then do nothing for two and a half years.

All right, that is what I did with this blog. I freely confess my mistakes and am grateful that my faith is one that celebrates forgiveness. I’ve learned that telling myself I will do something without actually having a schedule for it just doesn’t work. So I am resurrecting this blog and committing to a regular time for writing and posting.

Which leads me to think about the concept of resurrection and how it is such a key component of Christianity, not just the resurrection of Jesus or the eventual resurrection of the dead, but how our spirits can be “resurrected” at any point. Merriam-Webster lists the following as one of the definitions of resurrection: “the act of causing something that had ended or been forgotten or lost to exist again, to be used again, etc.”

The overused phrase “Today is the first day of the rest of your life” comes to mind because, even though I’ve heard it so many times, it’s still a great way to illustrate the concept of resurrection. Every morning when we wake up, we have the freedom to make a choice to live our lives fully and faithfully. Through the grace of God, we only have to ask to have a clean slate and start again.

And even when our earthly lives are over, our spirits still live on.

Rob Bell put in beautifully in “Resurrection”:

when you find yourself assuming that it’s over
when it’s lost, gone, broken and it could never be
put back together again,
when it’s been destroyed and you swear that it could never
be rebuilt

hold on a minute
because in that moment
things will in fact have just begun

Leave a Reply

