A Faith Geek’s Nightstand

Night StandYou can tell a lot about a faith geek from what’s on her nightstand. Looking at mine, it’s obvious I love to read and I read a lot of different books at the same time.

There are a few other items on my nightstand, many of which are reading-related. There’s a ceramic cup, made by a friend in college, but I’ve forgotten which one. (I had a lot of artsy friends in college.) The cup is filled with pens, pencils, markers, etc. because sometimes I need to write down a quote from a book or make a note about a book. I very rarely highlight or write notes in a book, as I was taught by the nuns in my Catholic schools to see books as sacred and writing in them a great sin.

I also have a stuffed Winnie the Pooh bear, which my daughter gave to me. She’s married and lives in another state, but every time I look at my stuffed Pooh, I remember how we loved to read the Pooh book series together when she was little. My daughter inherited my love of reading and now works as a children’s librarian.

I have a lamp — actually, I have two lamps, although one is attached to my bed board. It may not be aesthetically pleasing, but good light is needed for all the reading I do.

An alarm clock is on the nightstand; in true faith geek fashion the alarm sounds like cathedral chimes. Thankfully, I don’t have to use it too often, as I usually work from home and have fairly flexible hours, which tend to be later in the day (or night). I have fibromyalgia and arthritis so I wake up, as my rheumatologist puts it, “feeling like I’ve been hit by a Mack truck.” I don’t hop out of bed in the morning, although thankfully my husband is an early riser. Every morning he brings me a cup of tea which I place on my electric cup warmer. The cup you see in the picture is from the Upper Merion Township Library, where my daughter works.

I recently bought a bigger basket for my nightstand. It is filled with screen cleaning cloths, earbuds, a prism magnifier, prayer beads, Post-it flags, a notepad, a leather book weight, and of course bookmarks. You need a lot of bookmarks when you read a number of books at the same time. One of my favorites opens out accordion style to display a map of Middle Earth from the Lord of the Rings book series.

Of course I have a Kindle filled with books, too many to list. There are plenty of physical books on my nightstand as well. They tend to reproduce so I need to sort through them when they start falling off the nightstand or when my husband starts complaining, whichever comes first. The books presently on my nightstand, in no particular order, are:

 So now I think you know me a bit better after taking this tour through what’s on my nightstand. And yes, there are more books in my nightstand. How about you? What’s on your nightstand – care to share?

Leave a Reply

